Customer Service

I left my phone at home this morning when I went to run some errands. The problem was that I was on my way to the park to let the dog run when I realized it. Not knowing where I’d left it and thinking I’d have better luck if I was quick about it, I retraced my steps. What a pain in the butt! Three stores! The first store was a quick in and out. No dice.

Then, I went back into Fred Meyer, where a cashier said that it would be too much work to call me if they found my phone. Really? You’re kidding, right? Thankfully, the customer service people took my number and said they’d call if they found it. The problem is that, by then, my mind had been poisoned by that one cashier. Then, I checked with the other cashier where I passed through and she was nice too, but there was the honesty and laziness of that one person, the one who said that nobody would bother calling if they found my phone. I’m telling you – bad attitudes are toxic.

Then, I went into Target. Somehow, I expected to have the same trouble. No way! This guy named Travis asked for my home phone number, wrote it down and put it into the lost-and-found drawer. Then, he walked around with me as I looked and even suggested that a loose phone might be taken to the electronics department. I laughed out loud.

“My phone doesn’t look that new,” I said.

“Well used?” he asked.

“Constantly. I’m always picking dog hair out of the corners. Plus, it’s in an old purple case. Hardly anybody has their phone in a purple case,” I said.

“I don’t know what I’d do if I lost my phone,” he said. “I use it all the time.”

“I know what you mean,” I said. “I’m always checking my texts, Facebooking, taking pictures. Thankfully, I downloaded my pictures the other night.”

And we went back and forth that way while he knelt down and looked under stuff I was too tired and stiff to look under.

This guy was a keeper. If I’d had a daughter, I’d have fixed her up. Maybe I’d be one of those types, one who might get the phone numbers of a nice kid and give it to my daughter, who might already have a boyfriend, with a detailed description of how nice this young man was. Just kidding. I wouldn’t do that. Not really. But I can understand the impulse.

So I was trying to write a quick email to let Target know about the helpful guy, to say he was doing a good job. I get on the Target website …. no general contact information. Really? It’s all categorized – store information, online returns, bridal registry information. There was no place where I could send a general email about a guy who went out of his way to help me. I’m going to have to call. Well, crap. I didn’t really want to be the dork that called to talk to the manager about this helpful guy, but I guess I will.

Attitudes like that ought to be rewarded.

Thank you for listening, jules

Leave a Reply

