Repeating Our Prayers

Okay, so I managed to keep from sitting down in front of the news this afternoon and staying there until the newsmen had repeated and repeated the news. I had been volunteering in the middle school library when my friend came in to replace me. She told me what happened at the Boston Marathon. As I was walking out the door, she told me not to watch it over and over on the news, that she didn’t think it would be good for me, for any of us.

She’s right.

And she’s wrong.

After I left the library, I walked the dog, tried to take a nap, took Nick to get a hair cut, and ate leftovers for dinner before sending my guys to a Scout meeting. In other words, I went on with my day without very much thought to the people in Boston.

But the people who were there at the finish line when the two bombs went off deserve to have our thoughts. They do. I need to be with them in spirit. They need to feel the thoughts of the country beside them, sending love, support, outrage.

So, it was with some trepidation that I looked at the photos a friend had posted on Facebook. Some of the photos were graphic. I saw photos, of the runner, older than I am, lying on the pavement as the police mobilized. I saw photos of injuries, pools of blood, shocked faces, people running, police with guns drawn. I saw police, EMTs, reservists, and ordinary citizens running toward the blast. I saw people kneeling by the injured. I saw people holding children. I watched a long video of the blast and what happened immediately afterward. I imagined how strange it must have been to be the man behind the video camera as people tried to pull the barriers out of the way to get to the injured. His camera was pointed up in the air. He started to breathe heavily and then repeated the same thing over and over and over.

“Oh God.”

“Oh God.”

“Oh God.”

Oh God is right. What the people in Boston need most from us now is our prayers.

Thank you for listening, jules

Leave a Reply

